Dusa McDuff and Dietmar Salamon will receive the 2017 AMS Leroy P. Steele Prize for Exposition. They are honored for their book J-holomorphic Curves and Symplectic Topology (AMS Colloquium Publications, 52, 2004; second edition 2012).


Honouring Claude LeBrun's mathematical contributions.

July 5-9, 2016

Celebrating John Milnor's 85th birthday

May 27-June 4, 2016

2016 Spring Eastern Sectional Meeting

March 19-20, 2016

5th Stony Brook Mini-School in Geometry

December 4, 2015

Celebrating 25 years of low-dimensional dynamics at Stony Brook

May 8-12, 2015

4th Stony Brook Mini-School in Geometry

April 6, 2015

3rd Stony Brook Mini-School in Geometry

January 30, 2015

Robert Lazarsfeld, PhD, professor of Mathematics specializing in Algebraic Geometry at Stony Brook University will be awarded the 2015 AMS Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in January in San Antonio, Texas. He is honored for his two-volume work Positivity in Algebraic Geometry I and II (Springer, 2004). The prize citation notes that these books were “instant classics” that have profoundly influenced and shaped research in algebraic geometry over the past decade. Algebraic geometry, a major branch of modern mathematics with connections to many other areas of mathematics and also to physics, investigates the geometric properties of solutions to polynomial equations.  …